Possibilities

So I’m still pinching myself that I was invited to lululemon athletica’s Ambassador Summit in Broome, WA. What an amazing event, 3 days of self-development including goal setting, building your brand, creating declarations and so much more.

We were told very little about what to expect before we left, we all figured there’d be yoga at the least, but other than that the possibilities were endless! Having worked for lululemon in the past I was somewhat aware that we’d be working on creating a vision for our future and setting goals that bring us closer to that vision. I had no idea just how profound the experience would be.

The biggest shift I had was during a visualisation with Rob Martell. We were asked to imagine our lives 10 years from now. Where would I live? How many children would I have? What will I have for breakfast? Who are my friends? It was during this exercise that I realized my work played a very small role in the image I was picturing, and what matters most to me is creating a beautiful home to share with my family.

The thing is, until now I’ve been so committed to my path as a yoga teacher that I was only entertaining the future that has me owning my own studio, running teacher trainings and traveling for workshops and so on. And I’ve been almost militant with my husband, if it doesn’t fit that picture, we’re not doing it. The problem with this attitude is that it rules out ALL the other possibilities, including any of my husband’s visions that take him closer to his best self.

So here’s my commitment. I am going to embrace all the magical experiences life has to offer me, and my family. Maybe I’ll have a career, maybe I won’t. Maybe we’ll travel overseas, maybe we won’t. I can’t control the future, or change the past. The only place I have power is in the present. I can make choices that take me closer to the life I want to lead, but who knows if that is where I will want to be in 10 years? This has always been my problem with goal setting, what if I change my mind? But now I realise all I’m doing is setting one set of possibilities in motion, and if at any point I decide that path isn’t for me, I simply change direction. I don’t fail if I decide a goal isn’t the right one for me, it’s just not right.

So the first step on my current path is to write down my vision, and I’m going to keep a copy on my iPhone (the love of my life, but that’s a whole other story), so I can read it any time I’m uncertain.

Find out more about goal setting here: Create YOUR vision.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim A
    Aug 14, 2011 @ 14:26:41

    A lovely piece Al and very thought provoking! xx.

    Reply

  2. Stacey
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 13:09:34

    Yay! You are blogging. I will start soon also. Keep being inspired Al and let that light in your shine shine shine! The world needs it! 🙂 Love xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

